A massive Congratulations to our Year 8 squad who won the Oisin McGrath Shield on Wednesday morning. This was the first year of the competition and team captain Blaine Ryan brought home the first ever Ulster Colleges title to Holy Trinity. The game itself proved to be a thriller at Maghery, with the boys in Green and Black securing a hard fought 4-9 to 4-6.

Holy Trinity started the game in great style and a Shea Lawn penalty after ten minutes gave them a lead of 1-4 to 0-2. Armagh however hit back with a brace of goals, and it was Ardboe twins Shea and Sean O’Hare who fired over great points to leave Holy Trinity a point ahead at half time. Scoreline 1-6 to 2-2.

Holy Trinity had the perfect start to the second half when Matthew Conlon found the net, a score which was followed by a brilliant individual point from Callan Devlin. The turning point in the game arrived half way through the second half when a brace of goals from Shea Lawn saw Cookstown open up a 4-8 to 3-4 lead. St Pats Armagh fought back with a gaol and point but it was to be Holy Trinity who would be crowned Ulster Champions on a final score of Holy Trinity 4-9 St Pat’s Armagh 4-6. Well done to all the boys involved and to their managers Mr Canavan and Mr R O’Neill.

The Holy Trinity Squad: Jack Hamilton, Matthew Hurl, Joshua Canavan, Dean Ryan, Padraig Lynch, Callan Devlin, Conor Lavery, Blaine Ryan, Matthew Conlon, Shea McAleer, Shea Lawn, Shea O’Hare, Martin Ward, Odhran Nugent, Sean O’Hare. Subs Jack McGeary, Luke kelly, Jake Lagan, Ronan Maloney, Conor Coyle, Thomas Neville, Jason Cunningham, Daniel McNally, John Lagan, Cormac Loughran, Odhran O’Driscoll.